Skip to content

Native Formation : (Daily Biscuit #59)

March 15, 2010

This one was a fun one to make. I was thinking of trying a different approach today and so I made a background, and then made an ink drawing on white paper, cut it out and pasted it on the painted background. I really like how it turned out. And I named it “Native Formation” because it has a feeling to it that represents my style, my sense of representation of what my markings are for my life and for my family. Cultures in the past had styles and markings in their imagery for their clothing, jewelry, tools, structures, etc., and I feel I’ve spent a lot of my life developing my own sense of style for my life, because I wasn’t really handed down any sense of imagery and style that represented my family and surroundings. So this little drawing to me feels like it connects with my spirit, it makes sense to me, it is a native formation, something that has been formed that is connected with my roots.

Click on the image to enlarge it.

Leave a comment